Church Built 1852 - 1856. Cornerstone dedicated by Bishop St. John Neumann.

Church Built 1852 – 1856. Cornerstone dedicated by Bishop St. John Neumann.


That the Catholic parish of Saint Thomas the Apostle continues to flourish in the twenty-first century testifies to the strength of William Penn’s pioneering 17th century vision of a “Holy Experiment” in religious toleration.  St. Thomas’ Quaker and Anglican neighbors shared his vision and along with many others have since continued to participate willingly in the experiment.  The Friends of Old Saint Thomas (FOST) was established to increase the understanding that what has happened at St. Thomas over the centuries continues to bear strongly on the faith and tolerance of the parish and of the wider community today.

 The mission of the Friends of Old St. Thomas is  to restore and preserve the old church and its nearby buildings in our historic district, a significant connection with our past, and to foster awareness of the historical experience of St. Thomas the Apostle parish, the oldest Roman Catholic parish in Pennsylvania.

Click here to ring our 1860 steeple bell.

Restoration Of Our 118 Year Old Stained Glass Window Treasures

removing-1898-window-for-restorationRemoving An Original 1898 Stained Glass Window
replacing-restored-window-1Replacing The First Restored Window

Eleven of our thirteen windows, originally created in Munich, Germany in 1898, are being restored to their original magnificence and preserved for all generations to come. Click here to see information on how you can participate in this once in a lifetime project.